We want every family to be served to their complete satisfaction.


With that in mind, we love to hear about the experiences that people have with our cremation service.


We’ve shared some of this feedback below.

Have we helped you?


If you’ve ever read a review, you know how helpful they can be.



Help others by sharing your experience and leave your own review HERE.

Drew Hammett (5-Star Google Review written in August 2020)

“Our family had a terrific experience both with Our Mother and Our Father. After 6 years of working with Simple Choices they have consistently shown Kind, Prompt, Attentive service with every employee demonstrating Professional, Genuine Care. Simple Choices repeatedly has shown they go above and beyond everything you've asked for with outstanding empathy.”


Sue Murphy (5-Star Google Review written in August 2020)

“Roy and Simple Choices took care of both my mom and dad after their passing. Roy is kind, helpful, professional, prompt and trustworthy. I would recommend highly the services of Simple Choices and would use them again in the future if needed.”


Brendan P. (5-Star Google Review written in August 2020)

“In a difficult time Roy goes above and beyond to assist and take care of your needs. Not only that, but the cost is more than reasonable. It was a pleasure working with him and we are very appreciative!”


Jenny Razz (5-Star Google Review written in August 2020)

Roy was wonderful. He went out of his way to cater to my family who flew into town for the passing of my mother. He was very responsive and understanding of all of our concerns and questions. He was kind and sincere during a very sad and stressful time. I recommend him and his business over any in the local area as we did look around. Prices are feasible and the hours are more extended than local businesses as well. I would use Simple Choices again if needed and you will not be disappointed.


Jan Kirshenbaum (5-Star Google Review written in June 2020)

“Roy was wonderful in taking charge of the arrangements when my brother died suddenly. He is warm, empathetic and patient. He answered my phone calls and emails very quickly and answered all questions in a clear and comprehensible manner. He clearly understands what a traumatic event a death is for the family. I highly recommend him.”


Angie Parker (5-Star Google Review written in May 2019)

“In our most difficult time in our lives, Roy from Simple Choices took the lead in helping us make such a sensitive and memorable decision. Roy was very detailed and extremely respectful in explaining the whole cremation process and options. Our whole experience with Hospice Inn at St. Peters and Roy from Simple Choices was easy and heartfelt. Thank you all for your thoughtful kindness during this difficult time in our lives. May God bless you all. Virginia Rodriguez, Diana Hernandez & Angie Parker.”


Stephen Metzger (5-Star Google Review written in April 2019)

“Where do you start? What has to be done? Roy with Simple Choices was such a calming and inspirational guide throughout our family's most difficult times that it cannot be underestimated. He was there, step by step, day after day, to make sure every detail of our Mother's final services were performed flawlessly. Roy cares, and it shows in his compassionate understanding of our families' needs. Thanks, Roy!!!”


Carmen Militello (5-Star Google Review written in November 2018) 

“My Dad passed away this week and Simple Choices was recommended. As soon as I spoke to Roy I knew that this was the place I was going to entrust with my fathers remains. He was so gentle, patient and professional. He made a difficult time easier. I would recommend Simple Choices.”


Patrick H Murphy (5-Star Google Review written in November 2018) 

“Roy and SIMPLE CHOICES were so wonderful to deal with! Roy was extremely professional, personal and very consoling during a difficult time! My family and I can't thank him enough for all he did to help us! Thank You Roy! (and Kat, the adorable little cat on property!)”


Denise Passero (5-Star Google Review written in October 2018)

“My mom passed this week. She wanted us to use Simple Choices because of the experience she had with them when her mom passed. She wanted a simple cremation with no extra bells and whistles. We have recommended Simple Choices to everyone facing the death of someone they loved. Roy Bordeau and Nick Facci have been amazing, sensitive, caring, and kind during what can be an extremely difficult time. And, if I may say, the cost is beyond reasonable. No one wants to be hit with a massive burial expense at such a difficult time. Definitely five stars.”


Charlotta Brower (5-Star Google Review written in June 2018) 

“I lost my father recently and he was very explicit in what he wanted. He told my sisters and I he wanted to be cremated and his ashes spread in places that meant something to him. He didn't want calling hours, just a memorial. I actually Googled cremation in Troy and after reading several reviews of the options I chose Simple Choices. When we went to make the arrangements Roy was helpful and caring walked us through everything. Dealing with a passing is never easy and I am so glad I chose Simple Choices. They listed to what we wanted, what my dad wanted, and respected each decision (in this case lack of decisions) we made. Honestly, it feels odd reviewing cremation services but my sister and I really were happy with the choice we made. I would recommend Simple Choices to anyone who needs cremation services..........and for those that do my heart goes out to you and your family.”


Dana Jacobson-Goodhue (5-Star Google Review written in June 2018)

 “Nothing could be more difficult than choosing the right funeral home in the midst of grief and disbelief at planning an unexpected "send off." We visited 3 different outfits before we found Roy and he made the decision easy. His pricing was transparent and he had a neighborly way of communicating with a family (he kindly answered so many questions). He also has the most marvelous cat that makes it easy to keep things in perspective. In the end we decided on a private viewing. Initially I was a reluctant participant but it was very tasteful. My father looked more rested and at ease than he had in a year. I highly recommend Simple Choices Cremations.”


Michael Delaney (5-Star Google Review written in May 2018)

“In the most stressful time of my life, I somehow managed to listen to a recommendation (Albany Medical Staff) to contact Simple Choices, in Troy. Prior to that lifeline, I had spoken to 3 other well known funeral directors and found them to be concerned more about the size of my wallet than the pain in my heart. From the moment I called to the time I found myself in his presence, Roy showed empathy on a level that far exceeded his competitors. His demeanor, stature and presentation demonstrated years of committed service to those who have the good fortune to enter his establishment. I highly recommend Roy if you are in the need of a honorable man who will provide a service at a fair price while leaving your own option to elevate to what ever heights you see fit.”


Lea Amorosi (5-Star Google Review written in April 2018)

“Losing a loved one is one of the hardest things we have to experience as human beings. Emotions of sadness and emptiness consume us. We have to make closure decisions of when, how and where we place our loved ones to rest, while dealing with the sadness simultaneously. Roy was a blessing to us by taking care of all the things we asked him to do. If I could go back in time and make those decisions all over again, I wouldn't change anything and I especially would not change having Roy be the person to do it. Thank you Roy, for making this sad time easier. Your compassion for our dear Eleanor and for us was over the top.”


Kermit Ackley (5-Star Google Review written in March 2018)

“Efficient, courteous, respectful, pleasant to work with and no hard sell are but some of the terms I would use to describe our experience with the services provided by Simple Choices. Roy made a daunting task seem simple. Every aspect was handled in an extremely professional manner and was a welcome relief during a difficult time.”


Randall Wheeler (5-Star Google Review written in March 2018)

“Our family would like to express our sincere gratitude to Roy for his kindness, sympathy and professionalism during this time of sadness. We experienced a sense of comfort and caring that helped us walk through this time together. Sincerely, Eileen Wheeler and Family.”


Judy Kamilar (5-Star Google Review written in March 2018)

“I was so impressed with the level of care and consideration that Roy provided our family. He treated us with quiet sympathy and such respectful professionalism which softened the blow at difficult times like these. The other "homes" we visited were only interested in the bottom line and I was so surprised to find that Simple Choices provided us with much more than any other "homes" would. Simple Choices may be one of the more affordable options yet offers the client SO much more in the way of personal comfort and care than the others do. In fact, the entire time we were there I felt like it truly suited the name, a Funeral HOME not a business. I can't speak highly enough of Roy and his home. Do yourself and family a favor and let him help you-you will not be sorry.”


Phillip Sherotov (5-Star Google Review written in March 2018) 

“Roy is simply amazing: truly kind, empathetic, and caring. He was very respectful and sensitive in handling all details. He was always available and timely in his communications with us. His graciousness and professionalism made a difficult time easier for us. His services and prices are the best that I found. He honored our wishes completely. His conduct throughout was unimpeachable. My family is deeply grateful for his services and support during our bereavement


Larry Coningsby (5-Star Google Review written in February 2018) 

“Making arrangements were suddenly thrust upon me and I was 500 miles away. I called Roy at Simple Choices and he gave my situation his utmost attention. He took care of every aspect quickly and kept me informed. I finally met him a week later and he was every bit the compassionate man I believed he was over the phone. He treated my Mother as if she was his own. I am forever grateful to Roy and Simple Choices!”


Dee Stancari (5-Star Google Review written in January 2018)

“Roy is wonderful. He is very efficient and takes care of everything. I made several calls to get prices and I can tell you that you won’t find a better price. He was the lowest I found. If you’re thinking he must offer less for such a good price, you would be wrong. He made everything so easy for me. I was about 50 minutes away from his place and he worked with me through email so I could complete the necessary paperwork without having to drive there to just sign papers. When I finally went there I was very impressed with the place. It is extremely clean, very comfortable and peaceful.”


Mario DiCristofaro (5-Star Google Review written in December 2017)

“One month ago today Phyllis, wife, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, friend, left us making this world and our hearts a bit emptier. Roy was able to help us fill this void by his love and compassion towards all of us, especially to dad. During a time of loss and confusion, we had to do nothing, think of nothing. Everything was taken care of, all questions answered, allowing us to celebrate mom's life on a sad but beautiful day. All we can say is "Thank You" for being there for us.”


Derrick Welchering (5-Star Google Review written in October 2017)

“From the moment I spoke to Roy I felt a certain calm. He's great at what he does and has an unbelievably peaceful location, directly across the street from the river. Should another family member of mine leave this world before me again, Simple Choices would be who I want handling it. Thanks again.”


Lesley S. (5-Star Google Review written in August 2017)

“What a pleasure to work with Roy and Simple Choices. His professionalism, efficiency, pricing, and personal caring were deeply appreciated, especially during difficult times. We highly recommend his services!”


William Ratigan (5-Star Google Review written in May 2017)

“Roy was amazing. His venue was the perfect setting for making my family feel right at home. He picked up on every nuance and never skipped a beat. I will never forget the care and respect and wonderfully easy manner in which Roy provided this service at such a sad time for us. My Dad never looked better and the image that will be left for all our family members will be one of peace and love for my Dad.When an eagle flew past my Dad's hearse on its way to the National Cemetery, Roy included that and comments that people made along the way, seamlessly into his final words. It was commented by so many that it was the best service they ever attended. Roy is a truly caring professional and Simple Choices should be strongly considered when you need services at such a time in your life. Thank you Roy from the bottom of our hearts.”


Andrew Brown (5-Star Google Review written in May 2017) 

“I had a death of an estranged brother and desperately needed a solution to handling the situation that was both cost effective and simple. This is what Roy provided. They handled everything I needed to hand off to me for a funeral at Saratoga National Cemetery. Roy was great and I can attest to his kindness, patience and skill.”


Sue Sherr (5-Star Google Review written in April 2017) 

“Personalized and professional service. Roy is an excellent Director and I highly recommend Simple Choices services.”


Nathaniel Fossner (5-Star Google Review written in March 2017)

“Roy Bordeau has been a trusted partner in more than our share of passing's in the last 6 years. His caring attitude and complete care of all details has made all the difference in these difficult times. We had complete trust in allowing him to become part of our family. Thank you!”


Marge Milanese (5-Star Google Review written in November 2016) 

“My brother Mickey (Milan) Milanese died August 7 in his home in Florida, and his Services were here in Troy Aug. 20. Fortunately, Simple Choices Cremation was our contact here in Troy during this very vulnerable time of grieving. To say that Nicholas Facci was Pastoral and Professional is a dwarfed description of this Director's quality of service. Nick's deep compassion, boundless patience , and professional expertise every step of the process was comforting and assuring. Nick's respect and dignity for the life and death of my brother rendered a trustworthy tone to me and my family, making funeral arrangements easier, and such moments of sadness more tolerable. Three months later, it is with a continued grateful heart that I say, THANK YOU, and wish Nick, his family, and Simple Choices a very Happy Thanksgiving. Shalom, Marge Milanese.”


Rhett Tyler (5-Star Google Review written in November 2016)

“Roy Bordeau and Nick Facci handled the horrible situation of our friend's sudden death (who had no family) with respect, timely and professional service and courtesy---giving needed information; responding immediately to phone calls---getting the situation under control within a matter of days (a situation that in this case could have literally taken month to resolve) What a comfort to us to know that our friend can now be honorably and respectfully laid to rest in the proper manner. I would highly recommend their services. Beth Liotta.”


Patricia Brown (5-Star Google Review written in September 2016)

“I would like to thank Nick Facci for being so helpful, professional and courteous. My dad passed away suddenly and Simple Choices provided an affordable cremation. That's what my dad wanted. I will definitely recommend Simple Choices to my friends and family.”


Mark DellAquila (5-Star Google Review written in September 2016)

“Excellent services. Kind, compassionate and helped us through a tough time.”


Sueanne Myers (5-Star Google Review written in July 2016)

“I'd like to thank Nick Facci for his professional and compassionate service in our time of need. Simple Choices was recommended to us by a health care professional during my brother's last hours in the hospital. Being from out of state and not having unlimited resources, I really had no idea where to turn to attend to all of the details and arrange a dignified but reasonable service. Nick never tired of my numerous phone calls and was always extremely pleasant, providing the same attention to detail and care as he would to a more elaborate arrangement. He provided better service then funeral homes charging twice as much. I feel so fortunate to have enlisted the services of Simple Choices and highly recommend them. Thank you for being there at a very difficult time.”


Deborah Collins-Rapp (5-Star Google Review written in May 2016)

“I found myself unprepared when my husband passed. His wish was to be cremated, he didn't want to be buried in the ground - it had nothing to do with the cost. I found Simple Choices through a Google search and had to make a quick decision. After getting another quote from a funeral home which was twice the cost and talking to Roy at Simple Choices, I made my decision. Even driving to meet Roy at his place of business in Troy I wondered what kind of place I would be going to, a crematorium? Once I drove up to the Riverview Funeral Home (which Roy also owns) I felt at ease. Although I wasn't having a wake for my husband, meeting in the environment of a beautiful funeral home was more familiar and comforting. Roy was wonderful. To my surprise, I found a unique keepsake for my husband's ashes on display with the more traditional urns. He was an avid fisherman so I knew he would love the beautiful wooden display with a colorful fish on the front - so perfect! I would highly recommend Roy and Simple Choices.”


Michelle Branch-Riley (5-Star Google Review written in January 2016)

“In May 2015 Simple Choice handled my mother's arrangements, I live out of state, they came to the place where I was staying in the area. They sat down with my family made the arrangements that followed the time-line that we needed. They even picked up the ashes and delivered them to us in order for us to have them in time for my mother's memorial services. They were very professional and compassionate. I have recommended their services to other and I would use them again.


Anita Fellows (5-Star Google Review written in April 2015)

“I would like to express my sincere appreciation for the service that you provided me when my husband passed last week. You were at my home within an hour to pick up his body and take it to the funeral parlor. Nicholas Facci was incredibly understanding, compassionate and kind when he arrived the following day to make arrangements with me and again when he came personally to my home to deliver my husband's ashes. I could not believe the door to door service that was provided and the fact that I never had to step inside the funeral facility in order to plan my husband's direct cremation which was exactly what he wanted. Your prices were unbelievably reasonable for this service as well . For this reason I hope this review reaches out to others and that your service enjoys limitless growth and success. Sincerely, Anita Fellows.”


Laurie Fay (5-Star Google Review written in April 2015)

“My Father passed away and it was a very difficult time for me. Besides having just lost a parent, I was also lost as to how to go about making arrangements and so forth. I contacted Simple Choices and spoke with Nick Facci. He was my Angel on Earth during my time in need. Just speaking to Nick on the phone I sensed he was the right choice for us. Nick was so helpful, and compassionate and just a true blessing to me. I have already wrote a personal post on my FB Acct but felt that I needed to write one to Simple Choices Inc as well. Nick was absolutely wonderful to deal with and I will always highly recommend your services to everyone and anyone who finds themselves in this situation. Thank you so much for doing such a wonderful job. Warmly, Laurie Fay.”


Yvonne Anderson (5-Star Google Review written in March 2015)

“My Family made the right choice while searching for a cremation service for our brother Bobby Anderson. We were very impressed with the environment and the cleanliness of the place. They treated our family with the utmost respect and professionalism. An associate by the name of Nicholas J. Facci was one of the most caring and attentive person who assisted us with all our needs. This was a very devastating loss and he helped us with the transition of losing a love one. Our heartfelt thanks to Simple Choices, Inc.”


Enid Sefcovic (5-Star Google Review written in August 2012)

“Mr. Bordeau is kind, calm, and completely professional. He looks after details that you, the person organizing the funeral, may not even know are involved. Relatives commented on how beautifully the service went. This is high praise because members of our community had used a certain funeral home for decades. When a traditional and well-known provider is no longer available in this situation, it is a big switch during a stressful time. I was impressed with Mr. Bordeau, his knowledge of how to get things done quickly and effectively. He found an excellent priest to perform a service, when our first, second, and third choices were unavailable. His suggestion for a graver marker firm also has been smooth with polite and caring people. I would recommend his organization unequivocally. This business lives up to its name, providing Simple Choices during a sad and confusing time.”


Kevin Kay (5-Star Google Review written in March 2012)

“We had a clear picture of what we wanted, visitation and Buddhist rites at our home in Albany, minimal disturbance of the body prior to cremation, and a simple ceremony at Oakwood Cemeteries in Troy. Roy Bordeau of Simple Choices worked with us each step of the way and he brought humanity and creativity to the task. He helped us stay without our budget and even wound up serving personally as one of the pall bearers. And simplicity doesn't mean lack of service: Weeks after the cremation, it turned out there was an issue with the death certificate, and the bureau of vital statistics wanted me to obtain letters from Social Security to correct their own mistakes. Simple Choices resolved it directly with them, picking up the documentation from me and delivering the corrected certificates. Having seen many cynical funeral businesses in the past, I have been grateful for their professionalism and integrity.”


Varian Powles (5-Star Google Review written in January 2011)

“Mr. Bordeau provided funeral services for my family. As his website claims, he provided respectful, dignified service, with fantastic attention to detail. I would most certainly use Simple Choices in the future for convenience and peace of mind.”